top of page
Our Misson

Our Vision

The Pre-Law Advisors National Council (PLANC) seeks to create an informed, inclusive, and supportive network of college and university pre-law advisors while promoting collaboration, ideation, and best practices by the regional associations of pre-law advisors.


Our Mission

The Pre-Law Advisors National Council's (PLANC) mission is to serve as a resource for the regional associations and provide support for the common interests of pre-law advisors by facilitating and advocating for shared goals and interests at the national level.  PLANC derives its strength and its membership from its regional associations and is committed to their success. PLANC promotes ideas, resources, and best practices in pre-law advising across the country, while encouraging diversity, equity, and inclusion in the pre-law advising profession.

Regional Associations


Since its inception in 1975, MAPLA has served as an effective vehicle for communication among professionals involved in pre-law advising and in the law school admissions process. MAPLA members advise students in Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

MAPLA logo
napla logo_edited.jpg

NAPLA is the oldest and largest of the six regional pre-law advising associations. Founded in 1973, it was incorporated in 1984.

Our Association, with a membership of approximately 400, includes undergraduate pre-law advisors from schools in the northeast and throughout the nation, along with representatives from most ABA-approved law schools in the country.


Pacific Coast Association of Pre-Law Advisors

PCAPLA’s mission is to improve the skills of pre-law advisors, to advocate for the interests of students in the law school counseling and admissions process, and to connect pre-law advisors and law school admission representatives

SAPLA Logo White Background

SAPLA  membership is open to pre-law advisors from community colleges, four- year colleges and universities, and law school representatives.

While SAPLA was originally comprised of pre-law advisors in Florida, Mississippi, Georgia, Alabama, South Carolina, North Carolina, Kentucky, Tennessee, and Virginia, membership is now open to all regardless of residence.

The Southwest Association of Pre-Law Advisors (SWAPLA) is a professional support organization serving both faculty and staff of colleges and universities in Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas.

new SWAPLA logo.jpg
WAPLA logo

WAPLA is a professional non-profit organization that provides professional development, networking, and leadership for our diverse membership.



Meet the PLANC Board

Maya Russell Headshot


Maya Russell

Furman University

Gwyn Wallander.jpg


Gwyn Wallander

University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Michael Vitlip Headshot

Immediate Past Chair

Michael Vitlip

Franklin & Marshall College


Acting Treasurer 

Larry Hayman

Ohio University

Veronica Joiner Headshot

Communication Coordinator (2022-2024)

Veronica Joiner

University of Cincinnati


2024 Conference Chair

Kevin Freeman

The Ohio State University

Rita - new.jpg

2024 Conference Programming Chair

Rita Ralston

Boston University


MAPLA President-Elect

Erin Reichelt

University of Minnesota

PLANC v_edited.jpg

MAPLA Designated Member

Meg Pickens

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Scott Simon Boddery_edited.jpg

NAPLA Designated Member

Scott Boddery
Gettysburg College

Alexander Jablonski Headshot

NAPLA President 

Alexander Jablonski

Cornell University

Miguel Moran-Lanie Headshot

PCAPLA Designated Member

Miguel Moran-Lanier

University of California Santa Barbara

Susanne Mahoney Filback Headshot

PCAPLA President

Susanne Mahoney Filback

Pomona College

marcya burden

SAPLA President-Elect

Dr. Marcya Burden

Oakwood University


SAPLA Designated Member

Carol Riddock

Emory University

Chris Riley Headshot

SWAPLA Designated Member

Chris Riley

Abilene Christian University

Lori Williams-Dekalb

SWAPLA President

Lori Williams-DeKalb

University of Oklahoma 

Chris Shortell Headshot

WAPLA President

Chris Shortell 

Portland State University

Mary Nadarski Headshot

WAPLA Designated Member

Mary Nadarski

Arizona State University

Teria Thornton Headshot

AccessLex Liaison 

Teria Thornton

AccessLex Institute 

Lynda Cevallos Headshot

CLEO Liaison

Lynda Cevallos

Council on Legal Education Opportunity (CLEO)

kyle lsac.jpg

LSAC Liaison

Kyle McEntee

Law School Admissions Council


LSAC Liaison

Katya Valesek

Law School Admissions Council

nicole netkins-collins planc.png

NALP Liaison

Nicole Netkin-Collins

National Association for Law Placement


SEO Liaison

Jennifer De Jesus

Sponsors for Education Opportunity

bottom of page