Dean Gerald Lee Wilson Award for Excellence in Pre-Law Advising

 Dean Gerald L. Wilson is a founding member of PLANC and was elected its first chair in 1984. As the person who compiled and edited the Handbook for Pre-Law Advisors, he is widely recognized as the preeminent pre-law advisor in the nation. He has been the pre-law advisor at Duke University for four decades.

The first recipient of the Dean Gerald Lee Wilson Award was announced at the 2012 PLANC National Conference in Washington, DC. The award will be given annually.

Award Recipients

Anne Brandt (2012)
Executive Director, LSAC


Jerry Polinard (2013)
Professor of Political Science, University of Texas-Pan American

Jim L. Riley (2014)
Professor Emeritus of Politics, Regis University 


Mel Hailey (2015)
Professor of Political Science, Abilene Christian University

Karen Severn (2016)
Assistant Director, Office of Professional School Advising, Texas A&M University

Heather Struck.jpg

Heather Struck (2017)
Assistant Dean and Pre-Law Advisor
Cornell University


Frank Guliuzza (2018)
Professor of Government and Dean of Academic Affairs
Patrick Henry College